Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE)

Hon. Joe Debono Grech
Hon. Joe Debono Grech
Delegation Leader
Hon. Deborah Schembri MP
Deborah Schembri
Hon. Beppe Fenech Adami MP
Fenech Adami
Hon. Deo Debattista MP
Deo Debattista
Hon. Charlo Bonnici MP
Charlo Bonnici
Hon. Joseph Sammut MP
Hon. Joseph Sammut

About the Delegation

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) brings together democratically elected Members of Parliament from the 47 Member States of the Council of Europe. Its powers extend only to the ability to investigate, recommend and advise, nevertheless, its recommendations on issues such as human rights have significant weight in the European political context. The European institutions often refer to the work of the PACE, especially in the fields of human rights, legal cooperation and cultural cooperation. The Assembly has eight permanent committees that meet throughout the year to prepare reports and projects for resolutions in their respective fields of expertise.

The Assembly sets its own agenda; it discusses European and international events and examines current subjects which are of interest to the populations of the countries of Europe covering issues related to human rights, democracy, protection of minorities and the rule of law.

As part of the PACE's work in the promotion of free and fair elections, the PACE conducts election observation missions in a number of European states. 

The Maltese delegation to the PACE was established by way of Motion No. 16 adopted by the House on 15 April 2013 and Motion 130 adopted by the House on 7 May 2014 the Maltese delegation to the PACE is composed as follows: 


For more information about the PACE go to