Skip to main content
Language: mt  | Contact Us | Search

Language: mt  | Contact Us | | Search

Anġlu Farrugia

Anġlu Farrugia  

Curriculum Vitae

Dr Angelo Farrugia LL.D. M.Jur. (magna cum laude), has been unanimously re-elected Speaker of the House of Representatives, Parliament of Malta, during the first sitting of the Thirteenth Legislature held on 24th June 2017. He had previously assumed that office after being elected during the first sitting of the Twelfth Legislature on 6 April 2013.

Dr Farrugia first entered Parliament in 1996, and was re-elected in 1998, 2003 and 2008. Between 1998 and 2008, Dr Farrugia was the Shadow Minister for Justice. In June 2008, he was elected as the Labour Party’s Deputy Leader responsible for Parliamentary Affairs, and served for five years as the Opposition’s Shadow Minister on Employment and Workers’ Rights.

Dr Farrugia was Chairman of the Standing Committee of the House for the Consideration of Bills between 1996 and 1998, and an ad hoc member between 1998 and 2013 on the same committee. Between 1996 and 2008, he was also a member of the Privileges Committee of the House of Representatives.

Dr Farrugia headed the Maltese Parliament’s delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) between 1996 and 1998, and served as a member of the delegation since then till 2008. He has travelled abroad on a number of EU and OSCE missions as an international observer during the holding of various elections, including the ones in Georgia (1999), the Presidential Election in Palestine (2004), the US Presidential Election in 2004, the Montenegrin Independence Referendum (2006) and the Presidential and Parliamentary Elections in Zambia (2006).

Dr Farrugia also served as a member of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly’s Standing Committee on Human Rights.

Prior to entering politics, Dr Farrugia moved up the ranks within the Malta Police Force from 1977 to 1996, leaving the Force in the rank of Police Superintendent. During this period, he graduated as a lawyer from the University of Malta.

On February 13th 2014, Dr Farrugia was decorated with the Grand Cross of the Order of Honour (Greece) by the President of the Hellenic Republic, His Excellency Karolas Papoulias.

On 15th April 2015, Dr Farrugia was decorated with the Grand Cross “pro Melito Melitensi” (Sovereign Military Hospitallier Order of St John of Jerusalem, Of Rhodes and of Malta) by the Prince and Grand Master of the Sovereign Military Order, HMEH Fra’ Matthew Festing.

On 19th February 2016, Dr Farrugia received the PAM 2015 Excellence in the Mediterranean Award.
He currently holds the British Isles and Mediterranean Region seat of the Conference of Speakers and Presiding Officers of the Commonwealth for the period 2016 – 2018. He is also the first-elected Chairperson of the Small Branches of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

Dr Farrugia is the author of the following publications:
•Is-Sedja titkellem - Volumes 1 - 6
•The Voice of Parliamentary Diplomacy
•Il-futur tas-Setturi kulturali u Kreattivi
•The State’s duty to inform – essential to the right to good governance - A joint publication between the Office of the Speaker and the Office of the Ombudsman
•mill-Parlament – Periodical issued by the Office of the Speaker

Dr Farrugia was born on the 29th December 1955, in Mosta, and is married to Carmen née Zammit. They have a daughter, Caroline, who is a Magistrate at the Maltese Courts of Law, and a granddaughter Annamaria.

Electoral History

Eighth Legislature (1996 - 1998)
Link to Member's page in legislature
Elected on: 26.10.1996
Oath of Allegiance: 05.12.1996
Dissolution of Parliament: 03.08.1998
Ninth Legislature (1998 - 2003)
Link to Member's page in legislature
Elected on: 05.09.1998
Oath of Allegiance: 24.10.1998
Dissolution of Parliament: 10.03.2003
Tenth Legislature (2003 - 2008)
Link to Member's page in legislature
Elected on: 12.04.2003
Oath of Allegiance: 24.05.2003
Dissolution of Parliament: 04.02.2008

Electoral Districts

Eleventh Legislature (2008 - 2013)
Link to Member's page in legislature
Elected on: 12.03.2008
Oath of Allegiance: 10.05.2008
Dissolution of Parliament: 07.01.2013

Electoral Districts

Twelfth Legislature (2013 - 2017)
Link to Member's page in legislature
Dissolution of Parliament: 01.05.2017
Sworn in as Speaker of the House
Dissolution of Parliament: 01.05.2017

Electoral Districts