Skip to main content
Language: mt  | Contact Us | Search

Language: mt  | Contact Us | | Search

Speaker of the House of Representatives
Thirteenth Legislature (2017 - 2022)

Mr Speaker  - Hon  Anġlu Farrugia

Mr Speaker - Hon Anġlu Farrugia

Speaker Emeritus

Parliament of Malta

The main role of the Speaker of the House are to ensure that order is maintained during sittings of the House and that the parliamentary rules (Standing Orders) are respected. From time to time the Speaker may also be requested to give rulings in the event that issues arise on the application of these Standing Orders and see that members follow the correct procedures. The Speaker does not have an original vote but has a casting vote in the event that there is a tie in a vote in the House. The Speaker presides over the Standing Committee on House Business, the Standing Committee on Privileges and on any other Committee as directed by Parliament. The Speaker is the principal office holder in the House of Representatives.

The current Speaker Dr Anġlu Farrugia, was first elected Speaker on 6 April 2013 in the 12th Legislature. He was subsequently elected Speaker in the current Legislature on 24 June 2017.